Posted by: Daniel Comstock | August 20, 2006

The Treasure of the Poor By Henri Nouwen

The poor have a treasure to offer precisely because they
cannot return our favours.  By not paying us for what we
have done for them, they call us to inner freedom,
selflessness, generosity, and true care.   Jesus says:
“When you have a party, invite the poor, the crippled, the
lame, the blind; then you will be blessed, for they have no
means to repay you and so you will be repaid when the
upright rise again”  (Luke 14:13-14).

The repayment Jesus speaks about is spiritual.  It is the
joy, peace, and love of God that we so much desire.  This is
what the poor give us, not only in the afterlife but already
here and now.

Responses

  1. Why don’t u write a post by urself instead of copying someone else?

  2. cuz i think it is a great thing to rite about. so what this isnt ur blog is it

  3. You don’t have to be so defensive, it’s just nice to hear about your acctual life and the way you write, If I wanted to know what henry was writing I would just go to his blog instead of urs.

  4. i rtie stuff about my actuall life read the rest of my blog. come on i wudn’t get a blog just to rite about this think a little

  5. I saw but you have like ten posts on what henry wrote and If I were henry I would get mad at you for copying my blog, I also noticed you copied a patrick on a picture and he got mad so how would it feel if I copyied something that you wrote and got more comments than you on it? Or if I got an award or if it went into a newspaper and became famous??? how would that make you feel???

  6. i wudnt care i really dont care. if someone copies my post i wudnt care my friend helen does the same thing w/ henri so y dont u go yell at her than not a 12 year old boy!

  7. Daniel, who is Lynn anyway? Do you know this person? If she bothers you, just delete her comments. I *LOVE* your blog just the way you do it. Don’t change!

  8. i will i dont know ho lynn is it doesnt matter i showed her up anyway

  9. Showed me up? oh well you don’t understand I guess cuz u are just a twelve year old boy anyway!
    You just woulndn’t get how much you could get sued for plagerisom!
    I am just telling this because some day you will do the same thing and say “I did it when I was twelve I guess I still can do it!”
    And you will get sued or fined and you will be like hey I should listened to that lynn girl! Oh well shoulda coulda woulda!
    And you will be a broke sad man always saying “shoulda, coulda, woulda”

  10. hey i said it was by henri nouwen im not saying it was by me how cud i get sued. And yes i know how much i cud get sued for but i wont. so just worry about yourself

  11. I know this comment comes late but I just read the comments by “lynn”…I think she is totally off base. I dont think she realizes who Henri Nouwen is and I dont think she realizes that he died in 1996. I have had the pleasure of personally meeting Jean Vanier his contemporary and mentor, and if he is anything like Vanier, I’m pretty sure he wouldnt mind you making available his work on your blog. He does not write to take money from the individual. His purpose to write is to spread his knowledge of suffering and the poor as it relates to Christ. Also, I am pretty sure the dead can’t sue nor would the state fine. It is beyond the scope of power that the sate has. Perhaps Nouwen’s estate can sue, but its highly unlikely. I’m also pretty sure that copyright material becomes a matter of public domain after X amount of years…I dont know what it is in your jurisdiction. anyway i thought i might add my two cents…keep up with your good work Daniel.


Leave a Reply

Categories

